Menu
0 Comments

What happens to an Arizona drivers license with a 1st time misdemeanor DUI ?

Normally a person with a first time regular DUI (alcohol only) misdemeanor will have his licensed suspended for  90 days. However after serving the first 30 days of the 90 day suspension a person can apply for a restricted driving permit (to and from work or school).  The decision to issue one of these licenses is the sole discretion of the Arizona MVD. The person must do alcohol screening before a special permit can be issued. Additionally, a fee is required to be paid before your license can be reinstated at the end of the 90 days. It does not automatically become reinstated when the 90 days are up.

Exception: If DUI was for drugs a person’s license will be suspended/revoked for ONE YEAR, not 90 days. This is the harsh reality of DUI drug cases.

Leave a Reply