The Law Office of Ryan M. Gibson Uncategorized Punishment for First Time DUI in Arizona (Non-Extreme, under .15)

Punishment for First Time DUI in Arizona (Non-Extreme, under .15)

I deal with DUI cases on a daily basis. One of the first questions on people’s minds is how much jail and fines they are facing if they are convicted. The description below is for a first time misdemeanor offender with under a .15 Blood Alcohol Concentration and no other extraordinary issues or charges. This is meant for someone who is charged with a misdemeanor DUI only. Laws and policies change frequently and I encourage you to contact an attorney for the latest information.

If you are charged with A.R.S. 28-1381A1 and/or ARS 28-1381a2 and you have the results of you chemical test and they are below .15 you can expect the following.

Total fines=$1,492 plus jail costs and other fees. Usually this works out to approximately $1,800 depending on a number of factors that vary on a case by case basis. Jail fees and court appointed attorney fees can vary by jurisdiction. Sometimes community service is available to work off some of the fines.

Jail Time
10 days however this is normally reduced to the absolute minimum of 1 day if Defendant agrees to Alcohol/Drug screening and counseling classes. The absolute maximum is 180 days in jail because it is designated as Class 1 Misdemeanor.

Ignition Interlock device
Must be installed for 12 months. After 6 months the MVD may allow you to take it out if you satisfied their requirements.